2025 VASITE Annual Meeting and Technical Conference

June 16-18, 2025 Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel



MONDAY, JUNE 16, 2025

3:00 PM – 5:00 PM VASITE Board Meeting – Executive Meeting Room

5:00 PM – 7:00 PM Welcome Reception / Registration

TUESDAY, JUNE 17, 2025

7:30 AM – 8:30 AM Breakfast, Registration, and Coffee

8:30 AM - 9:00 AM Welcome

Opening Remarks

LJ Hansen, Director of Public Works (City of Virginia Beach)

9:00 AM - 10:00 AM Technical Session 1

Moderator: Shankar Natarajan (Jacobs)

1A. Crash Reduction Outcomes of VDOT Safety Initiatives in Rural Virginia Gerry Harter and Yiseul Choi (VDOT)

1B. Use of LiDAR and GIS for Automated Intersection Sight Distance Measurement and Qualitative Safety Assessment Fangjian Yang and Sachin Katkar (WSP)

10:00 AM – 10:30 AM Networking and Snack Break

Moderator: Claire Gavin (WSP)

2A. Roanoke SMAP Development Bryan Katz (toXcel)

2B. Guide to Greening Multimodal Buffers

Afshin Famili (City of Richmond) and Danielle Soriano Brown (Timmons)

2C. Citywide Traffic Signal Control System Modernization in Our Nation's Capital Glenn Havinoviski (JMT)

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM Lunch

1:00 PM - 2:30 PM Technical Session 3

Moderator: Sean Becker (VHB)

VDOT Traffic Signal Initiatives: Planning through Operations

 Statewide Signals Program Matthew Bonacci (VDOT)

3B. VDOT Signal Studies
Sanhita Lahiri (VDOT) & Michael Tantillo (VHB)

3C. Traffic Signal Operations

Andrew Nichols (VDOT) & Justin Effinger (Mead & Hunt)

2025 VASITE Annual Meeting and Technical Conference

June 16-18, 2025 Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel



2:30 PM - 3:00 PM Networking and Snack Break

3:00 PM – 4:15 PM Technical Session 4

Moderator: Wes Parker (Clark-Nexsen)

4A. City of Norfolk Multimodal Transportation Plan and Safety Action Plan Keith Darrow and Alan Budde (City of Norfolk)

4B. Big Beam Weekend – Closing the I-495 Inner Loop in Tysons for an Entire Weekend Jerry Mrykalo (Dewberry), David Metcalf (Volkert), and Shelley Wynne (Dewberry)

4:15 PM - 4:30 PM Adjourn

5:30 PM - 6:30 PM Reception

6:30 PM – 8:00 PM Annual Banquet and Dinner

Awards

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 18, 2025

8:00 AM - 9:30 AM Breakfast

9:00 AM VDOT Leadership Update

Cathy McGhee, Deputy Commissioner (VDOT)

9:30 AM - 10:30 AM Technical Session 5

5. VDOT MUTCD and Specifications Update
Robert Cochrane (VDOT), Rashmi Patel (VDOT) & Michael Tantillo (VHB)

10:30 AM - 11:00 AM Break

11:00 AM - 12:00 PM Technical Session 6

Moderator: Jeff Kuttesch (RK&K)

6A. Pipeline Success Arlington Boulevard and Washington Boulevard Interchange Improvements

Dan Goldfarb (ATCS) & Andrew Hayes (Arlington County)

6B. VA-36/ Winston Churchill Drive - City of Hopewell - Corridor Improvements Suhasini Kilim & Habib Diouf (Jacobs)

12:00 PM Closing Remarks and Adjourn